Here Are A Few Of My Favourite Things


I have written before about how important I think it is to stop and appreciate the simple things; the little things which warm your heart and bring a smile to your face. This week I have been grinning a lot and this is why:

I have washing flapping lazily in the sunshine and plants doing their thing all over the garden.

Bonus Boy and Darling Girl are already reluctant to come inside for tea and there are chalky pictures springing up on the patio.

The bucket pond we made last spring seems to have grown and we are VERY excited about this work in progress!

Yesterday I spent a very happy morning with a lovely man called Dave looking at tree ferns (more about this next week – it’s an exciting new project I can’t wait to write about!)

I couldn’t resist this as a delayed  mothers’ day present to myself and I can’t stop looking at it.

The sunlight is finally reaching my favourite spot under the apple tree and when I have finished this post I am taking a large mug of Earl Grey, a piece of simnel cake and a copy of Country Living and I’m going to spend half an hour in the sunshine NOT DOING ANYTHING!

I can smell spring!

What simple things have made you smile this week?

16 Comments

Filed under Gardening

16 responses to “Here Are A Few Of My Favourite Things

  1. Beautiful post🙂 My washing is flapping away happily on the line too, and I would so love to sit on that bench and drink tea in the sunshine with you!

  2. Fiona (@crafts4kids.co.uk)

    The bunch of daffodils on my desk makes me smile!

  3. itsasmallworldafterallfamily

    That made me smile. Spring is a lovely time.

  4. That’s all looking good. Roll on summer x

  5. My garden is my calm area. I go there to potter and de-stress. At the moment it’s wonderful watching our house bunnies zoom and jump around on the grass along with the kids and cats. Makes me feel all warm inside🙂

  6. I love daffodils and bulbs, washing flapping on the line too. Lots of smiles for me.

  7. This. This has made me smile. Also a quiet 5 min feed with the baby while Noah babbled away to himself in another room. Just E looking up at me holding my hand was like a little calm in the storm of the day.

  8. oh my goodness those photos make me want to come and sit in your garden. What an idyllic life you lead. I shall be stopping by more often because your blog makes me feel peaceful and wholesome🙂

Leave a Reply

