The Things They Say and Do – Week 5


This week Bonus Boy has mostly been tired from being back at school and totally absorbed in his own creation ‘Dragon World’. Dragon World has been lovingly created over the last six months or so and requires my undivided involvement and attention. We both have a selection of imaginary dragons who accompany us on our way to school, flying around us and learning their dragon skills as we learn to be dragon trainers. I’m a bit rubbish at it to be honest but he is SKILLED!

He has also managed to sniff a small piece of gravel up his  nose (‘It’s my crystal Mummy’) and to snort it out again to avoid a late night trip to A&E. Best of all he has showered me with love and gentle attention as I have dealt with a crushing migraine. This morning he insisted on helping me into my boots ‘so you don’t hurt your head Mummy’ and laid my slippers out ready for me so I could pop them on when I came back through the door. He’s a gem.

Crunching on an apple this afternoon after school he found a star. I love that he notices all the small magic moments in life which pass us by as ‘seen it all’ adults. I love that he opens my eyes to the miracles all around me.

To join in, write a mini blog post recording a funny/clever/eye-opening sentence, word or sound that your child has made or something they have done and you want to keep a record of. Come back here and pop your blog link on the linky widgit (highlighted in red) below this blurb. Please link back to me in your post and go and visit other people’s posts for a giggle/sob/eureka moment. Most of all, use it as a weekly prompt to remind you to keep a record of these precious moments before they slip out of your mind and drift off forever.

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

9 Comments

Filed under Children's Development, The Things They Say and Do

9 responses to “The Things They Say and Do – Week 5

  1. He is developing his mother’s eye for detail!

  2. What a lovely walk you must have Chris. They are such a joy yo spend time with at the moment

  3. Aww what a great time you are having with BB. Love that you are a dragon trainer.🙂 x

  4. Last night my 6 year old dreamt that the tooth fairy came, and then took her back to fairyland to meet the goblins and gnomes and elves. And then when she woke up she ‘was sad to realise it was just a dream fluttering in my head.” By the way, you are going to love The Night Rainbow when it comes out. I don’t say this to many people because how could I know? But I can tell from your post. Childish wisdom runs right through it!

  5. It’s great to able to see the world with the joy of simplicity & diccovery through a child’s eye isn’t it? Also brilliant that Bonus Boy is so caring🙂

  6. Just wonderful-all that creativity and attention to all the things we miss, is awe inspiring. Thanks for sharing x

  7. I am loving coming over and reading these every week and joining in… it’s really helping to focus… thanks🙂 x

  8. Pingback: The Things They Say And Do – part 1 – Littleflowerbaby's Blog

  9. I love that you are a dragon trainer!
    Sounds like he has excellent snorting skills! x

Leave a Reply

