Urban Landscape


I flew to New York in September with Save the Children and spent most of my time there in the dark. I worked really hard trying to do what I had been asked to do, head down, fingers tapping, rushing from place to place. It was SO exciting, I met some amazing people (some very famous!) and it was such a buzz to be working in this incredible city. Everywhere I rushed I felt like I was on a film set, it was a landscape so familiar and yet so alien to me.

I craned my neck and gazed upwards, twirling on the spot, trying to see the sky.

I was lucky to be with Liz who had done it all before and got me from place to place effortlessly. I would’ve been lost without her!

It was busy and bustling and I was bowled over by it

But I am a girl who loves space. My soul craves the sea and rolling countryside. I love gazing into the distance so, on the last day, I slammed my laptop lid, grabbed my bags and headed here

At last, I could see where I was…I looked down

And then I looked up and out, into the distance and it was breathtaking

This post was written for this week’s Gallery at Sticky Fingers. Thank you Tara for giving me the nudge to write this one!

24 Comments

Filed under Photography, The Gallery

24 responses to “Urban Landscape

  1. New York is on my list of places to go. I’ve seen som many pictures of it that I feel I must experience it myself at least once!

  2. itsasmallworldafterallfamily

    Oh I love NY. Spent a lot of time there as a child and teenager. No matter how many times, you’ve been, it’s always like walking onto a film set. Gorgeous.

  3. What stunning pictures. I would love to go one day, but worry I would feel overwelmed

  4. I could get vertigo just looking at these! New York is on my “things to do by 40” list – must makes sure that happens.

  5. Helloitsgemma

    Beautiful photos. So true about new York – its so familiar but alien.

  6. Wow, what an amazing experience! Really really love the first photo!

  7. I feel dizzy when watching pics of skyscrapers. I cannot imagine what happens, if I see them in real life

  8. I love your photos! I must confess, I’m not a big fan of New York. I remember feeling quite claustrophobic and anxious arriving amongst such tall buildings where I couldn’t see the sky. I was only 19 though, and think I’d see it differently now as an adult and as a mother of 2 without breaks! Your pictures make New York look like a buzzing heavenly place to escape!

  9. Wow, looks amazing! I would love to go to New York. xx

  10. I am SOOOO jealous, i really really want to visit New York. Maybe this will be the year, maybe maybe maybe!!!

  11. Great photos…definitely a city I hope to visit one day.

  12. great shots! they made me go rummaging around looking for my photos of NY when I went waaaaay back in 1996 with a friend for a long weekend. Looking at our photos taken on the roof of one of the WTC buildings still gives me a shiver. Would love to go back.

  13. Wow, beautiful photographs! National Geographic quality🙂 I enjoyed looking through you blog. Glad I found it!

  14. wow wow wow those are some amazing pictures. I so want to go there. x

  15. NY looks wonderful and what an amazing reason to be there! Great shot!

  16. NY is amazing but, on the two occasions I was there, after about 5 days I was craving to get out into some countryside.

  17. Always fancied New York at Christmas! Great pics!

  18. I would LOVE to visit this suburban landscape – everything about it seems so amazing and hectic and “awesome”!!! your photos make it look even more so – wow is all i can say xx

  19. Brilliant! We can’t wait to visit ourselves in May. Thank you for the taster!

  20. I used to do New York on business trips, never thought in those days about taking some pictures. Looking at yours I wish I had!

  21. Wow! That’s one hell of a landscape! Fabulous post!

  22. Absolutely love these images!

  23. Wow what an amazing opportunity and great pictures!!! x

Leave a Reply

