The Things They Say and Do!


I decided to do this as a weekly spot on Thinly Spread when I realised how many of my children’s funny/philosophical/totally mad sayings have disappeared into the mists of time. I haven’t been very good at keeping a consistent record and things they have said are dotted throughout various notebooks surprising me every now and again with a blast from the past when I am looking for a particular recipe or a sheet of paper for a list.

So I am writing them here and the family and I have had terrific fun this week spotting the best bits from Bonus Boy. If you are taking part and have written a blog post please pop it on the linky at the bottom. If you don’t blog or haven’t written a post but you have one in your head to share please put it in a comment – I’d love to read them! My lovely friend Emily has asked if this could also include ‘The Things They Do’ as well as the things they say which I think is a brilliant idea so if yours have done something which made you laugh or astonished you this week, this is the place to put it!

We have three we want to share this week!

Me: What are you doing BB?

BB: I’m jumping on the moles.

It transpired that he thought the knots in our wooden floorboards were called moles because that is what the dark spots on my arms are called – such logic!

**********

BB: Mummy, I love you more than cheese

I went to Mr TS for a gloat and, when next he saw BB, he said ‘I hear you love Mummy more than cheese’

‘Well…I love cheese more than a thousand…and…I love Mummy more than cheese Daddy’

‘Goodness’ said Mr TS reminiscent of Big Nutbrown Hare in Guess How Much I Love You, ‘That is a lot’

**********

(To his sister, exasperated) ‘Stop being so lastic’ Hilarity ensued around the table as Tallest Teen did an impression of his sister with a particularly stretchy nose. Bonus Boy laughed but was cross too because, of course, what he really meant was to ask her to stop being sarcastic.

To join in, write a mini blog post recording a funny/clever/eye-opening sentence, word or sound that your child has made or something they have done and you want to keep a record of. Come back here and pop your blog link on the linky widgit (highlighted in red) below this blurb. Please link back to me in your post and go and visit other people’s posts for a giggle/sob/eureka moment. Most of all, use it as a weekly prompt to remind you to keep a record of these precious moments before they slip out of your mind and drift off forever.

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

3 Comments

Filed under The Things They Say and Do

3 responses to “The Things They Say and Do!

  1. Love all three of these! My two get really confused by moles too. But that’s because they love the book, ‘One Mole Digging A Hole’ and when they ask what’s on my arm, and I tell them it’s a mole, they just look at me like I’m a crazy lady.

  2. I have linked up my most recent letter to Piran as it is full of the little things that he says and does at the moment. I can’t go back in to edit it to link to you as Blogger is being odd but I will when I can!

    I love that photograph of BB.

  3. Love those,

    such a good theme to run

Leave a Reply

