Rhubarb Crumble Muffins and a Buttery Giveaway!


Anchor butter are bringing back Elevenses! Of course, as a person who identifies readily with hobbits Merry and Pippin in The Lord of the Rings, Elevenses never really left:
Aragorn: Gentlemen, we do not stop ’til nightfall.
Pippin: What about breakfast?
Aragorn: You’ve already had it.
Pippin: We’ve had one, yes. What about second breakfast?
[Aragorn turns and walks off in disgust]
Merry: I don’t think he knows about second breakfast, Pip.
Pippin: What about elevenses? Luncheon? Afternoon tea? Dinner? Supper? He knows about them, doesn’t he?
Merry: I wouldn’t count on it.

However, Anchor’s campaign has made me stop and think. Elevenses for me since Bonus Boy started school has been a cup of tea and a biscuit from the bottom of the tin sitting at  my desk. The tea goes cold more often than not and it is hardly a satisfying moment in my day, I am refuelling but not recharging.

So, yesterday, I reinstated proper Elevenses, an Elevenses which Merry and Pip would have been proud of. Bonus Boy and I sat at the table with our cups of tea and a rhubarb crumble muffin each and caught up with each other. Next week I am going to schedule Elevenses into my working day and I am going to move away from the desk for a full fifteen minutes. I have a feeling my productivity levels will rise and that I will feel a lot better for it.

Here is my recipe for Rhubarb Crumble Muffins, making the most of the early UK forced rhubarb. Go on, treat yourself!

Makes 12

Ingredients

375g Self Raising Flour

125g Soft Light Brown Sugar

100g Anchor butter, melted and cooled

250ml milk

1 egg, lightly beaten

200g rhubarb, sliced lengthways and then chopped

50g caster sugar

2tbsps water

For the crumble topping

50g plain flour

25g porridge oats

50g cold Anchor butter, diced

50g Demerara sugar

½ tsp ground cinnamon

Method

  • Preheat the oven to 200°C
  • Line a 12 hole muffin pan with paper cases
  • Sift the flour into a bowl
  • Add the soft brown sugar
  • Whisk the egg, milk and butter together
  • In a small bowl, mix the rhubarb, caster sugar and water together
  • Make the crumble topping by putting all the ingredients, except the Demerara sugar, into a bowl and rub the butter in with your fingertips until the mixture resembles rough breadcrumbs. Add the sugar.
  • Add the egg mixture and the rhubarb mixture to the flour and fold it all together. Don’t over mix, it is supposed to be lumpy
  • Divide the muffin mixture equally between the paper cases
  • Top each muffin with a generous amount of crumble topping and press it on very gently
  • Bake for about 20 minutes, leave the muffins in the tin for 5 minutes before transferring to a wire rack to cool.

To encourage me to take a bit of time out and recharge (I have been on the go at full speed for four hours by the time Elevenses comes around after all) Anchor have sent me a full set of their memorabilia and I have two more sets to give away!

Anchor Elevenses

It includes a butter dish, a pair of egg cups, a cake stand, a cake tin, a tea towel, an apron and a toy van! Perfect!

To be in with a chance to win one of these sets, leave me a comment below telling me your favourite Elevenses snack.

For an extra entry tweet ‘I am entering @christinemosler’ s #AnchorElevenses giveaway with @Anchor_dairy http://wp.me/pPrLb-1d2′

Closing date is Elevenses on Thursday 26th January 2012. Winner will be chosen by an online random number generator. My decision is final. Hurry up, it’s not long!

Pop over to Facebook and Twitter for Elevenses chat with Anchor.

I am running this giveaway concurrently with my foodie blog so if you want to enter over there too pop along to FabFood!

27 Comments

Filed under Chris Cooks, Competitions, Giveaways

27 responses to “Rhubarb Crumble Muffins and a Buttery Giveaway!

  1. Lovely comp. My favourite elevenses is a home-made latte, sometimes with a home made choc cupcake (c/o Marry Berry’s cookbook).

  2. Pingback: Rhubarb Crumble Muffins

  3. Anton Keyte

    Mine has to be a homemade gingerbread man washed down with a homemade mocha (made with 3 espresso shots so it keeps me going through the afternoon!!)

  4. Ali

    My current ‘elenvenses’ snack is a cup of tea (of course) and one of the Great British Bake Off ‘Little Ginger cakes’.

    We always had ‘elenvenses’ at my Grandparents which was in Winter Hot Choc and digestive biscuit and other times of the year coffee or tea and digestive biscuits. Always at 11 and always everyday.

    Nice memories, one to bring back for sure!

    Your muffins look gorgeous x

  5. itsasmallworldafterallfamily

    Chocolate cake, or any cake really. Or biscuits. Or chocolate. I’m not that fussy really.

  6. Yummy muffins but where’s the custard to go with the rhubarb crumble?

  7. Those muffins look fantastic!! But my6 absolute favourite with a cuppa has to be Millionaires Shortbread!!!🙂

    In my desperation I have also tweeted!! @muminmeltdown

  8. Oh my mouth is watering. I will definitely be making these.

  9. They look amazing! I am pinning!

  10. Sammyj

    Gotta be fresh baked, warm, double chocolate chip cookies, all soft and gooey, mmmmmmmm! Might have to make some to tide me over until I get my hands on some rhubarb lol! x

  11. That is a rather hilarious giveaway. How can I resist entering. Favourite elevensies snack. Mmmh. Mmmh. A donut??? Whatever it is, it has to come with a cup of tea!

    Maggy

  12. This weekend our favourite elevenses treat has been lemon drizzle cake. But I adore rhubarb (despite it’s stubborn refusal to grow on my allotment *sulks*) so will definitely be trying out your recipe!

  13. Hm what’s my favourite? A cheeky cheese toasty maybe?

  14. Tracy W

    Ohh, lemon muffins for me – with plenty of lemony icing drizzled on top to wake up my taste buds!

  15. I have taken note of your recipe for the rhubarb crumble muffins and am gonna try making some! My fave is shortbread!!😀 x

  16. Definitely a cup of tea with some type of cake. At the moment I would go for the proper cream tea, when in Cornwall and all that. I like Elevenses, Piran and I like to bake during Kate’s first nap if we can and that means freshly baked treats round that time.

    The only butter that my step mum will have is Anchor, she even brings her own along when she comes to stay so I would have to share the prize with her if I won.

  17. I’m always baking/cooking and my favorite thing at the moment is soda bread which is very easy to make which has lashings of with slow cooker lemon curd on it.

  18. Kirsty Fox

    Cupcakes, becase I got a cupcake maker for xmas and currently have them coming out of my ears, lol

  19. Kirsty Fox

    I have also tweeted – @bloomingfox

  20. My favourite is coffee and home made flapjack with nuts and seeds – yum!

  21. Debbie

    A cup of tea with either bourbon biscuits or fruit cake, preferably home made.

  22. I love a piece of my lemon drizzle cake ………… it’s yummy!

    @baggiesbabe69

  23. Pingback: Rhubarb Crumble Muffins | Fab Food

Leave a Reply

