Happy New Year!


2011 was an incredible year in the Thinly Spread household, we crashed into Christmas and indulged ourselves with eleven days of uninterrupted family time. I can’t remember the last time we had that long together and it has restored and rejuvenated us like nothing else can.

We lounged about unashamedly.

All of us!

We chattered

We walked and we talked and we caught up with each other.

He had time with all of them

And they had time to run

I have tried so many times to write a post which does justice to my adventures last year but, frankly, I can’t…there was too much, it was too amazing. Last January I was making New Year’s Resolutions which revolved almost entirely around my family; this year those resolutions are still there but so is a burning desire to keep on fighting  for justice for those whose voices are not so readily heard.

I hope I can count on you, lovely readers, to help me as you did so remarkably last year.

Thank you, each and every one of you, from the bottom of my heart.

Happy New Year!

 

17 Comments

Filed under family life

17 responses to “Happy New Year!

  1. Ali

    Your Christmas sounds a bit like mine. So nice to catch up and hang out together with no interuptions🙂 total bliss!

    Happy New Year to you and I am sure our voices even if small will be behind you x

  2. Happy new year to you and all your family!:-)xxxx

  3. Happy New Year and what a great time over the holidays you had. Looking forward to reading about 2012 x

  4. Happy New Year dearest Chris. You’re right, how could you do justice to such a year? Our insatiable desire to record everything sometimes makes us forget that sometimes, just sometimes…you can’t. Sometimes memories, and impressions, and the change that experiences brought are more precious. Surely 2011 was that for you.

    So proud to have met you, albeit briefly, last year! Much love x

    • Spud, I love you. Thank you for understanding what I was trying to say and for putting it far more coherently than I did. I have thousands of photos and thousands of memories (good and bad) and I shall cherish them and bring one or two out from time to time. I am still processing what I saw, who I met and how it all made me feel and I think I probably will be for quite some time to come. There is no way I can fit it all in a round robin blog post!

  5. Right behind you Chris. You are a force to be taken seriously, so glad you are out there shouting for those without voices.

    Mich x

  6. Clever Spud. Brave you. Loved following your journey last year and look forward to more this year.

  7. I think you might be my secret pleasure. Your positivity opens my eyes. When I read your blog it is like I am looking out over the rolling hills on a sunny day and taking a deep breath. christ you even had me doing craft FFS!

    M2M

  8. And a Happy New Year to you too brilliant lady – and I echo what Spud and M2M said. (Without the ‘doing crafts’ bit I’m afraid, that would be a step too far..)

    Here’s to an even more successful 2012 X

Leave a Reply

