Feed the Birds for Festive Friday!


Hello and welcome back to the last Festive Friday for this year! My children break up today and I have decided not to give myself any blogging deadlines while they are off for the holiday. I will still be blogging, obviously, I can’t shut up!

This week we are decorating the garden and providing a Christmas banquet for the birds as we do so!

We have been sent this marvelous tool kit by the very lovely people at Red Toolbox. I was lucky enough to meet them at a Christmas in July event and promised I would feature their fab product on Festive Friday. As they sent us a bird box to make it fits in very well with this week’s theme!

The tools are the best I have come across for children and we have had several tool kits over the years. They fit comfortably into small hands and are heavy enough to use as proper tools but not so heavy that they are unwieldy. I like that there is a selection of projects to have a go at in the range and that they all build up the skills needed to be a successful user of tools. This is a level 2 toolkit and my daughter is working on it at the moment. When it’s finished I’ll pop a photo on here, she’s not keen for you to see it half done! I suspect it will be painted, I’m hoping she is not in a ‘I’m almost 12 and everything must be black’ phase but in a ‘I’m still 11 and I like flowers and bright colours’ phase!

I love the philosophy behind Red Toolbox who believe that children and parents should spend time together, learning skills and working and playing together. We are certainly enjoying building this!

To keep the birds fed as well as comfy we will be hanging popcorn garlands in the trees again. We always seem to ‘make too much’ so we may be forced to eat the leftovers in front of a good movie and a warm fire, such hardship!

We will also be rolling some of our enormous collection of pine cones in peanut butter and bird seed and hanging those outside as baubles for birds!

What will you be up to this week? Are you feeling festive yet or still a little bit bah humbug?

If you have a Christmas blog post old or new to share do pop it on the Linky and have a look at what everyone else is up to while you’re there! Please link back here, thank you, and grab the badge if you’d like! If you are new to Festive Friday look here to see what it’s all about.

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

7 Comments

Filed under Christmas, Crafts, Festive Friday, Get Crafty, Sharing Nature With Children, Uncategorized

7 responses to “Feed the Birds for Festive Friday!

  1. What a lovely idea to decorate your garden and think of the wildlife too. I’m not sure how to use your link, sorry. Instead here is a link to my posting about festive fury v chill out xmas from nicola at
    http://homemadekids.wordpress.com/2011/12/15/can-you-crack-festive-family-stress/

  2. Ali

    Love your pop corn idea, my son is next to me saying “But do birds eat it?” I assume as your doing it they must🙂

    Feeling more festive here, though still wishing for slightly colder weather!!!

  3. I love that you always turn me around. I start reading your posts with the typical Milk anti-craft sentiment (oh god, like i could be bovvered) and then i finish thinking “ooh popcorn garlands – i wonder!”.

    In fact i like the idea so much i might even try it……well i never

    M2M

  4. Like this, brings back memories when used to get snow regular in the UK (felt like that as a kid any way). Mum and I would make a special bird cake mixing seed bacon rind and fat. I used to insist that we set it in her best rabbit jelly mould!

Leave a Reply

