Festive Friday – The Snuggle Sack!


Welcome back to Festive Friday number 4…already! The time is flying and it won’t be long before that man in red sets off on his travels. My two youngest are frantically making lists, editing and re-editing them and the five-year old keeps shouting ‘I want that’ during advert breaks on the telly. I am seriously thinking about buying or making myself a nice pair of festive themed ear muffs so I can edit out the ‘I wants’ and concentrate on all the fluffy, sparkly, cinnamon scented bits that I  enjoy. Some like this maybe.

Tomorrow evening we will be trotting into town to watch the lights being switched on, sing a few carols around the Christmas tree and to ‘ooh’ and ‘ah’ at the fireworks. We will all suffer from the now traditional frozen feet and will return thankfully to our nice warm fire and a cup of something hot – advent will be under way!

I love advent, the build up to Christmas is absolutely the best bit so I do go a bit loopy and our traditions *may* be getting out of hand, I wrote about them here last year!

I’m not so keen on the shopping bit of Christmas but there is one bit I absolutely adore and it is the bit I am concentrating on this week and which I want to share with you!

Every year on Christmas Eve I bring down the Snuggle Sack, we all sit in front of the fire and I pull out its treasures one by one with a dramatic flourish. It has become our very favourite family tradition and, when I asked them recently what the best bit of Christmas was, they all said Christmas Eve and the Snuggle Sack!

It will contain some of these things:

1. New dressing gown/pyjamas/slippers/comfy thing (last year they all had fleece blankets)

2. A decoration for the tree

3. Some nibbles (savoury and sweet, must include Twiglets for teens, homemade chocolate fudge, a nice piece of cheese, tortilla chips and a dip)

4. A new book each

5. A DVD we can all watch together (we probably won’t get round to watching it on Christmas Eve but we will know it is there)

6. A puzzle/game to play (we had mini trivial pursuit one year, one of those fiddly metal untangly things another)

7. A candle (preferably scented with cinnamon or orange and homemade)

8. A sprig of mistletoe

9. A bottle of wine & one of lemonade

10. All my love

We will all change into our comfy stuff and snuggle in. I love it, I’m grinning just writing it down!

What is your very favourite bit of Christmas?

If you have a Christmas blog post old or new to share do pop it on the Linky and have a look at what everyone else is up to while you’re there! Please link back here, thank you, and grab the badge if you’d like! If you are new to Festive Friday look here to see what it’s all about.

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

I am also linking this up to Alexander Residence’s lovely Little Legacy Linky. Click on the acorn and you will be whisked away!

20 Comments

Filed under Christmas, Festive Friday, Get Crafty

20 responses to “Festive Friday – The Snuggle Sack!

  1. I love this idea. I just wanted to check why you offer so many new gifts in the snuggle sack? Aren’t the kids going to get lots of stuff anyway? Or it it more to do with having something to look forward to (eg, a book) during the holidays? I can see this is your family tradition but I’m intrigued as to where it came from – from my mostly rather thrifty viewpoint it seems overly generous!! Obviously not the snacks, I can see that these are essential. Nicola
    http://homemadekids.wordpress.com

    • It’s part of our Christmas, spreading the gifts. The book they get in the snuggle sack won’t appear on Christmas day and neither will the slippers. I don’t think a pair of slippers, a book and something to eat is overly generous really!

  2. That sounds fantastically festive!! I may pinch that idea, as soon as I find myself some lovely earmuffs🙂

  3. I love your snuggle sack! What a wonderful idea :o)
    Ours open one present from under the tree on Christmas eve, (the rest come from Santa) which is always new pajamas then we have hot chocolate with squirty cream and marshmallows before going upstairs to read, The night before Christmas.

    They get a new tree ornament in their stocking on Christmas day and decorating the tree each with their own ornaments is one of their highlights🙂

  4. I love this idea, I’m afraid I may have to copy you. xx

  5. alisonwells

    My goodness, I just came over all weepy reading this! We have our Christmas Eve traditions as well, similar, a nice sit down in front of the fire, candles, open some sweets and nibbles, exchange one small gift, maybe sing a few carols. It definitely reflects the spirit of Christmas more than the actual day!

  6. itsasmallworldafterallfamily

    I love this idea. On Christmas Eve we go to the nativity at the local church, lots of their school friends are in it, and I love walking along the street with our neighbours in the dark. Then we have stories in front of the fire and stocking hanging before bed. They usually get a DVD each in their stocking. They always look forward to it and have already made their requests, it’s a real treat to get a new DVD.

  7. That’s a lovely idea. We do a new pair of pjs makes bedtime even more special.
    Love item ten! The most important one.

  8. What a great idea. We do the new pair of PJ’s. I feel having my oldest’s birthday Christmas eve, this takes away from our Christmas traditions x

  9. Totally stealing this Awesome idea Chris!! I’m smiling just imagining us opening the Snuggle Sack🙂 We usually give Pj’s on Xmas Eve, so they look all pretty, snuggly and cute on Xmas morning, but so looking forward to starting a Snuggle tradition – what a fab idea, and Great Contents! Just the perfect amount :)) xx

  10. Oh, I burst into tears when I read no.10! This is such a lovely idea… that I am going to steal x

  11. I love the idea too – I’m determined to instigate such a tradition even though we don’t do Christmas.

  12. Fabulous post. Jen at the Madhouse does something similar and I vowed last year to nick the idea! Christmas Eve is my favourite day of Christmas, have linked up a post from last year.

    Mich x

  13. I love this idea. I nicked Mum in the Madhouse’s idea last year (our first where LBG actually got the point of Christmas) for a Christmas Eve gift of pjs (this year I made my own), book and family DVD which we then watch……but I can see it expanding in the future!!

  14. Ali

    Have just read this to my daughter, we always do something along these lines but this just seems so gorgeous.
    Bex said “Mum can we do that, it’s lovely!” With a huge grin on her face🙂
    What a plan, I am excited just thinking about it xxx

  15. Thanks for telling us more about snuggle sacks – I’ve been intrigued by the idea ever since you mentioned it during the #xmastips twitter party.

  16. I just love the snuggle sack idea! This is the first Christmas we’ve done at home with the kids, so no real traditions as yet, am going to pay attention to the comments and see what I can shamelessly copy.

  17. Your Christmas Eve sounds utterly perfect. I think I’ll be stealing your Snuggle Sack this year! Just wish I had your candle/chocolate fudge making skills- but I can improvise!

  18. I love this idea, so magical. I feel like a proper grown up inventing (and stealing other good people’s) traditions. What a lovely little legacy, bet your kids will be doing this with their kids, and so on, and so forth🙂

  19. Amanda @gidders1

    Awh this is such a lovely idea, I think I’m going to steal it!!!!😉

Leave a Reply

