My New Pom Pom Maker!


I bought a Pom Pom maker yesterday, how rock and roll am I? This makes me incredibly happy, so happy in fact that I burst on to Twitter last night to announce my purchase. I didn’t think for a moment that others would be interested, I was just doing the usual ‘over sharing on social media’ thing but…oh my word…there is a Pom Pom Posse out there! The response was, frankly, astonishing and I promised that I would vlog the Pom Poms today to show how easy it is and to debunk the myth that circles of cardboard are all you need. These are fast, simple and totally unfiddly and we are going to be bursting at the seams with Pom Poms this yuletide!

The first video shows me making a pom pom:

Then he got in on the act…he’s cuter than me so I thought you might like to see how he got on!

See? Child’s play!

So…ideas please! I shall have a lot of pom poms at my disposal, what shall I do with them all?

Cathy’s Robin can be found at NurtureStore where you can find loads of ideas for play and craft

The ‘Maggie’ mentioned can be found at Red Ted Art, a wonderful source of inspiration for all things crafty and creative

I bought my pom pom makers in a shop but they don’t have a web shop *gasps* so I’ve hunted them down on Amazon for you!

21 Comments

Filed under Christmas, Crafts, Festive Friday, Get Crafty, Vlogs

21 responses to “My New Pom Pom Maker!

  1. That looks fab. I HAVE to get one…I have big plans for a Christmas present for baby H!

  2. Ali

    Wow, so clever๐Ÿ™‚ this is a must buy and can see why you were SO excited๐Ÿ˜‰ will go away and buy and think of more Pompom idea’s! You covered all my suggestions!!!

  3. I am converted. Where do I get mine!? We SO need to make some snowmen and penguins…

  4. do these machines make different sizes of pom poms? I think I’ll stick with cardboard! That said, I’ve been making pom poms out of t-shirts recently and it’s being going horribly wrong more often than not, so maybe a machine would be a good idea!

  5. I’ve had a fantastic picture of a pompom wreath saved for ages as I’m desperate to make my own – will try to search out the picture for you as would make a great project for all your pompoms!

  6. Looks like you’re cutting a tampon in half. I wonder if that would work the same….

    M2M

  7. I got mine from Clothkits but they are the same things – love them!

    of fun making these with them๐Ÿ™‚
    http://www.patchofpuddles.co.uk/archives/6076/halloween-pom-pom-window-art

  8. Yay for the Pom Pom Posse! That is sooo much faster than with cardboard hoops. Guess what I’m off to buy?

    Thanks for including my robin too x

  9. How fab, I have not thought about pom poms for years. my kids will lvoe them.

    Thanks, Mich x

  10. Fi

    Want! How very cool is that?

  11. that is fab!! I have to get one! My friend had Bright yellow pom poms as part of the decs at her wedding, they looked lovely. I’m thinking a lovely christmas wreath!๐Ÿ˜‰

  12. wow I am totally getting one of those, I am useless at making pompoms – I am an embarrassment to crafting-kind.
    You could make pompom christmas garlands, they’d look fab, much better than tinsel.

  13. Great blog. It does look a lot easier to make Pom Poms like that. My 4 year old loves them but finds the card ones a bit hard. Might have to take a trip to hobby craft tomorrow.

  14. OMG I NEED one of these in my life. NOW!

    A poncho wouldn’t be a poncho without pompoms :0)

  15. FayC

    How about sewing them onto some thick cord to make a funky scarf?

  16. oh my gosh a sophisticated pom pom maker, I have a two plastic ring thing, it takes ages but I find it very relaxing sitting and turning the wool over. I made a cat’s tail out of pom pom for an outfit for my boy. love pom pom’s even saying it is nice.

  17. Pingback: Easter Bonnets – Day 3 | Netmums Blog

  18. Pingback: Making Easter Bonnets (for boys, girls, tots and tweens!) - Climbing Rainbows | Climbing Rainbows

Leave a Reply

