The Nutcracker! – Festive Friday


This week on Festive Friday our family Christmas traditions really begin with a visit to the Theatre Royal in Bath to see The Nutcracker!

Picture Credit

For me creating Christmas is all about creating sparkling memories, so every year some or all of us trot off to the ballet and indulge in an evening of music and magic. This year it is just me and my daughter as everyone else is busy elsewhere. We are secretly delighted and will be donning our dresses and putting something glittery in our hair for a girly night out in the city! When this curtain rises we will both clap our hands together and snuggle down in our seats to be entertained.

Waiting for the curtain to rise at the Theatre Royal Bath

We will emerge, blowing dragon breath, chattering excitedly about our favourite scenes. Will it be the Land of the Sweets, the Cossack Dance or King Rat? A few years ago it was the gunshot as King Rat was dispersed, followed by his comical bottom holding which has provided us with one of ‘those’ family stories ever since!

On Saturday, she will make me look for our pop up Nutcracker book so she can pore over it and relive it all over again. I am SO excited!

The Nutcracker marks the beginning of all things Christmas for the children and from now on they are allowed to sing Jingle Bells and eat the first of the mince pies. Over the next two weeks we will be going to see the Christmas lights being switched on, beginning to make some decorations and Christmas cards and baking will begin in earnest. The smells of cinnamon, nutmeg and chestnuts will begin to waft their way around the house as the gradual build up begins.

How do you mark the beginning of the Festive Season with your family? If you have a Christmas blog post old or new to share do pop it on the Linky and have a look at what everyone else is up to while you’re there! Please link back here, thank you, and grab the badge if you’d like! If you are new to Festive Friday look here to see what it’s all about.

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

11 Comments

Filed under Christmas, Family Fun, Festive Friday

11 responses to “The Nutcracker! – Festive Friday

  1. The Nutcracker is my favourite ballet & is certainly a great start to the season. I suppose my start is when I get my Christmas cards. Being just the two of us it is far more low key but hubby is very excited with the present list he has written. I don’t think he’ll be sending it to Santa but I wouldn’t swear to it!

    • I, on the other hand, am useless at the cards thing! I ALWAYS leave them to the last minute despite ALAWYS having good intentions. I always get to Christmas Day with a few cards undelivered!

  2. I would just love to go to the ballet but as yet have never been and to see The Nutcracker, at Christmas…well I think I might just copy that tradition with my daughter when she is a bit older. xx

  3. I went to see the nutcracker with some friends when I was at college. It was the one and only time I’ve been to a ballet. I can’t wait till my girls are a little older; I intend to take them every year because I loved it🙂

    We’ve started on the Christmas movies and I’m loving it this year because KayCee’s older and is actually sitting and watching the movies with me.

    • We had a lovely time, it marks the beginning of the season so well. I shall did out our old Christmas movies this week and see if there are one or two we could add… popcorn and hot chocolate in front of a good sparkly film is also one of our favourite things to do!

  4. I have never been to the ballet either😦

    We have just started making Christmassy things and getting excited about Advent. I have 2 very excited kiddies, and a clueless baby🙂

  5. I’ve never been to a ballet but I had to comment on that first picture – my Mum had one of those and it took me right back to childhood!

    I’ve linked my Creating Christmas post to your linky and added your badge – hope that’s ok?

  6. Pingback: The First Mince Pie of the Year | dorkymum

Leave a Reply

