Holidays and Halloween – Something for the Half Term!


It has been a long time coming but the October half term is finally upon us! If you’ve been reading my blog for a while you will know that we always go away for this week and that we all look forward to it enormously. This year it has been like a lighthouse beacon blinking in the dark, offering us safe passage and calm harbour.

Our lives have been turned upside down and given a really good shake since this time last year. A lot of it has been good, my life in particular has changed in ways I would never have imagined. However, it has not all been a bed of roses and running our own business during recession has been tough, really tough. It means that, while the children and I head off to North Devon, Mr Thinly Spread will only be joining us as and when he can – we have turned a corner but he can’t take his foot off the accelerator just yet!

So, this week I will be revisiting Clovelly the beautiful fishing village which inspired Charles Kingsley to write The Water Babies and has featured in countless period television and film dramas (we are particularly fond of Jeeves and Wooster’s sojourn there).

The village tumbles down the steep hillside and the children love seeing the donkeys which traditionally work there pulling sledges up and down its narrow cobbled street (they quite like sitting on the beach eating chips too!)

RHS Rosemoor is always worth a visit and I can get my gardening fix, drooling over their veg and drinking in autumn colour while my darlings gambol about (or slouch along a bit)!

We love this holiday because the pressure is off. If the weather is a bit rubbish we can hide inside with a good book/game/film – if it’s nice we can wrap up warm and explore. I love beaches in autumn when they are quiet rather than when you can’t move for basting bodies. I can stride out or sprawl on a rug while everyone digs or skims stones. It is a time to recharge and chat, to gather ourselves before Christmas. I can’t wait!

What are you up to over the next week? I am feeling very autumnal and would love to have a look at your autumnal/Halloween crafts/recipes/family friendly days out! If you have blogged about them please leave a link below if you haven’t (or – gasp – you don’t blog!) please tell me all about it in the comments section instead. Old posts are very welcome so trawl back through your archives for your favourite autumn post and give it an airing! If you could pop a link back here in your post, I would be very grateful and you can grab the badge if you fancy!

To tempt you I have a little giveaway just for SFTW linkers this week! My daughter would love to look at all your spooky posts, she will judge her favourite and we will send out these spooktacular face painting kits to the one she chooses!


I will announce the winner on Wednesday so we can post them from Devon in time for them to arrive before Halloween! UK entrants only. You MUST link back here in your post to qualify. Her decision is final!



9 Comments

Filed under Competitions, Days Out, Family Fun, family life, Giveaways, Holiday Fun, Holidays with Kids, Something for the Weekend

9 responses to “Holidays and Halloween – Something for the Half Term!

  1. Oh, I have a photo of my two brothers (as children) sat on a donkey at the top of that lane in Clovelly. My mum was sporting a very 70s low ponytail affair with a fantastic print mini-shift!

    Jessies_online is off to see the Clovelly donkeys this weekend as well.

    Have a great break.

  2. We’re having a Halloween party next weekend, so we’ll be carving our pumpkin and baking lots of spooky goodies to eat next week.

  3. Have a fabtastic time. I am so glad that things are picking up and I am sure you will make the most of your family time

  4. I never appreciated the beauty of the UK when I lived there – as a typical young adult I was always wanting to go abraod to somewhere exciting. Now when I see your (and other UK blogs) photos I wish I could spend time revisiting all those amazing places.

  5. You are near me!! Lovely part of the country of course!! Hope you are enjoying it so far xx

  6. Hope you are having a wonderful time. I have been to Clovelly, lovely to be reminded of it. Magical spot!

  7. Hope you have a lovely week, and Mr gets to join you soon!

    I’ve never visited there but it looks stunning.

    Hope you come back fully re-charged x

  8. Bad Wabbit

    Great autumn leaves pic. Love your silent sunday pics also!🙂

Leave a Reply

