Peppers and Eggs – A Quick Lunch/Supper


I am sidling up to my blog and stroking it nicely, it is time to get back to my normal routines and plant my feet firmly back on the ground so ‘Hello Meat Free Monday my old friend, I’ve come to talk with you again’!

Welcome back to Meat Free Monday! If it’s your first visit I am a vegetarian mother of four veggie children and wife to a veggie man. I started this slot in response to many requests from friends. I decided to run it on Mondays because it fits in well with the Meatless Monday campaign which aims to help people reduce their meat intake. Many of my readers are not vegetarian but are looking for tasty veggie meals to share with their families.

This week I am sharing a delicious fast food veggie recipe for a quick lunch or supper dish. Peppers and Eggs is a one pan dish which can be whipped up in moments.

Serves 2

Ingredients

Half a green pepper roughly chopped

Half a yellow pepper roughly chopped

12 cherry tomatoes

2 eggs (or 4 if you want something a bit more substantial)

Black Pepper

2 slices thick crusty bread (or 4 if you are particularly peckish)

Salad leaves to serve

Method

Gently fry the peppers in a little olive oil for two minutes, add the cherry tomatoes and cook for two or three minutes more. Crack the eggs into the pan and fry until white is set and yolk is to your taste (I like a dippy egg). Add freshly ground pepper to taste. Serve on toasted bread with salad leaves.

A Few Variations

Add chopped spring onion, peppers of other colours, shredded basil leaves, a splash of balsamic vinegar OR drop the peppers and tomatoes altogether fry some mushrooms with a little garlic and some chopped sage/tarragon/parsley.

Serve on English muffins/enfold in lacy pancakes/on top of a buttery baked potato.

I love meals wich can be made with the bits and bobs you have left over in your fridge and which end up tasting like a little piece of heaven, I hope you do too!

What is your favourite veggie fast food dish?

 

4 Comments

Filed under Chris Cooks, Meat Free Monday, Quick Cooks, Vegetarian

4 responses to “Peppers and Eggs – A Quick Lunch/Supper

  1. I am starving looking at these photos! I think my favourite veggie fast food dish is mushrooms on toast. Or grilled tomatoes on toast. Do you notice a theme here?!

  2. There is a Hungarian version of this. It’s called letcho- tomatoes, peppers and onions chopped and fried. Pour over scrambled egg and season with salt and pepper.

Leave a Reply

