Five Songs To Live Your Life By


This little meme was passed on to me by Liz Jarvis. It’s hard but it’s worth it. Five songs to live your life by. These are mine. What are yours?

1. Bridge Over Troubled Water – Simon and Garfunkel. This one has got me through everything from my parents’ divorce to my miscarriage. I always think of my best male friend when I hear it. I’ve known him since school and he’s still there.

2. Get Up Stand Up – Bob Marley and the Wailers. I’ve always been a person who makes noise.

3. Theme From Love Story. This was played at our wedding. I didn’t know, I hadn’t chosen it but my lovely Auntie told me afterwards and it is very apt.

4. Send Me On My Way – Rusted Root.  The theme to Ice Age some number or other. Pixar has been the backdrop to my parenting years. My eldest now plays this on his guitar. It is jolly and makes me want to dance. I love to dance!

5. At The River – Groove Armada. This is our sailing song. Everyone should have a song which makes them want to catch the wind.

I’m tagging Metajugglamum, Nickie, The Boy & Me, Suzie and Mrs Teepot because I think (hope) they’ll like this one!

9 Comments

Filed under Memes, Uncategorized

9 responses to “Five Songs To Live Your Life By

  1. Oh my Lordy lord!!! Help!
    This may take awhile, I have *ahem* just a few ‘favourite songs’ which strongly reflect bits and pieces and times and people which and who have impacted my life.
    Groove Armada Sand dunes … is one btw – makes me want to laugh and cry at the same time.
    O ye oh ye o ye.
    Translation to finish first, but will get my back-brain to start brooding on this one in the meantime. Thank you! What a fab challenge!
    MJM xx

  2. Liz

    Fab selection, especially love the Bob Marley one – a great way to remind us that we all have the capacity to get up and stand up x

  3. I love that Rusted Root track! Also used heavily in Matilda. It rocks and never fails to cheer us up when we’re having a grump moment/afternoon/week.

  4. Mine are 1) I am an innocent man 2) don’t worry baby 3) when I grow upto be a man 4)bright eyes 5) the boxer. Weird choice but they all have a meaning

  5. This is a very tricky one but here goes:
    99 Red Balloons – Nena
    My parents had a pub and my sister and I played it over and over on the juke box
    November Rain – Guns and Roses
    One of the first singles I ever bought
    All those things that I have done – The Killers
    Song played at the end of our wedding and one that the kids and I dance around the living room to on a regular basis
    First Time I ever Saw your Face – Johnny Cash
    Another wedding one that reminds me of my husband. The song I walked up the aisle to
    Night Swimming – REM
    One of my favourites of all time. A trusted friend. Love the piano solo

    Not that hard after all!

  6. Lovely phrase – ‘catch the wind’! This list tells me lots about you Chris!

  7. An eclectic bunch of choices. Groove Armada is a well worn favourite of mine.

  8. That took a really long time but it is now done and I am quite pleased with the result.

Leave a Reply

