Katie Morag – Something For The Weekend!


Hello and welcome back to Something for the Weekend! If you’re new here or have only been reading during my adventures of the last few weeks, SFTW is my regular Friday post filled with suggestions for some Family Fun.

This week Bonus Boy finally discovered the joys of Katie Morag and The Isle of Struay. I’ve been trying to persuade him for some time because my Big Boys and Darling Girl all adored her stories as did I. Bonus Boy would have none of it but now he can’t get enough. Patience rewarded!

The Katie Morag stories by Mairi Hedderwick are fantastic for children at so many levels and there are so many possibilities for creative play based learning and for just having fun!

Katie lives on the island of Struay where the ferry only comes once a week and the only shop is the village store and post office where Katie lives.The island is packed with memorable characters, the illustrations are full of tiny details and the maps in the endpapers take you on a journey across the island and through Katie’s life.(As you can see our copy is very well thumbed and has even had a bath!)

This week, we have read The Day of the Birthdays which appears in The Second Katie Morag Storybook.

In The Day of The Birthdays Katie decides which presents she wants to buy for her two Grannies and orders them from the big mainland store catalogue. Unfortunately her plans are scuppered as a rogue storm blows up and stops the ferry from visiting and delivering her gifts so Katie, always resourceful decides she will have to make presents instead. For Granma Mainland she decides to make perfume so, of course, Bonus Boy decided that he too must make perfume!

It is made with lavender and rose petals just like Katie’s and we are going to decant it into a big bottle and make it a lovely label this weekend!

He also made a little post box out of a spice packet so we are going to set up a post office (again) in the sitting room (we have a special corner where our Christmas tree goes and which has been shops/post offices/cinema ticket booths/museums/market stalls and classrooms more times than I can remember).

We’ll have scales for weighing, stamps and string, brown paper, parcels, letters and all that stuff you didn’t know you needed until you were standing in line at the post office. There will be notices and adverts which Darling Girl will provide (she loves all this still!). If you look closely at the illustrations in the books and don’t just stick to reading the text you will find all sorts of jokes and asides which are right up my children’s street!

We might also revamp our forgotten weather station and start a weather record, collecting rainwater, measuring wind speed and direction and looking at cloud shapes for clues.

Finally, Bonus Boy has loved looking really closely at the maps in our Katie Morag books. In the story of The Hermit’s Hut Katie and her Dad’s journey from their house to the Hermit’s Hut is shown both as a map and as an illustration and he was very good at following the journey with his finger on both and pointing out the features from one on the other. I think it might be fun if we did the same with a map of our journey to school. I’ll let you know how we get on!

What have you got planned for the weekend? I’d love to see what you’re up to! Have you got a post to share to give us all some ideas? Something to do, something to make. something to read, somewhere to go – all are welcome! Old posts or new can be added to the link, we are building up quite a resource bank now! Please link back here, thank you, and grab the badge if you’d like.


1. Spaghetti Painting at Smiling Like Sunshine

2. Science Sparks Challenge at Mummy… Mummy… Mum!

3. Finger Print Sunflower Cards at Red Ted Art

4. Knit a Mini Bunny and Teddy at Red Ted Art

5. LOTS of transport crafts at Red Ted Art

6. Creating Confident Artists at Baby Budgeting

7. A Visit to the Roman Baths, Bath with Plus 2.4

8. Teepees and Mop Hockey!

9. How to Make a Sundial with NurtureStore

10. Science Sparks!

11. We Love Center Parcs!


12 Comments

Filed under Books For Kids, Family Fun, Something for the Weekend, Things To Do Which Don't Involve A Screen

12 responses to “Katie Morag – Something For The Weekend!

  1. My 7YO LOVES Katie Morag. We had a couple of the books on our shelves from Teen, but it was when they discussed the author and her books in school that she discovered her love for them. So much so that she sat and told my Mum a few of the stories, almost word for word on one occasion. I love it when we revisit a previous favourite of one of the children.

  2. mummymummymum

    What a great idea for a link up!

    I remember making perfume as a child and trying to sell it to the neighbours in milk bottles!

    I love the weather station idea also!
    x

  3. Oooh now there is a read for us to look forward to! Thank you! LOVE all the book related activity :-)

    Lovely to have Something For The Weekend back!

    And thank you for linking up to Kids Get Crafty!

    Maggy

  4. Becky

    Never read any katy morag thoeugh just been writinfg a play post about perfune too. oh the menories

  5. Kelly

    Oh I love these posts. Gives me something to aspire to when I’m finally getting some sleep and can think past the next couple of hours! A nice weekend at home with your family sounds just perfect, hope you enjoy the normality.

  6. Good post! Son studied Katie Morag in yr 2 and loved then learning about other Scottish islands and map making. Jolly Postman is another great book which can spawn lots of other activities like post office games, making postcards etc.

  7. I never heard of her.Think that shall be on the kids Summer reading list.I do love your ideas.I can’t wait to get a house so we can have different corners

  8. alisonwells

    Hi Chris. I had already linked back to you in my blogpost this week and although it’s entitled the School hols and the writing parent it does mention briefly) a couple of the activities we ended up doing on the first day. Teepees, face painting, bows and arrows with a final tally of ten kids in rival camps. Oh and earlier in the day we played mop hockey on the kitchen floor with the mop and scrubbing brush & a plastic ball. I have linked to it but don’t know if the link came out okay!

    • I’ve sorted it, thanks lovely! Teepees are just fantastic (I wrote about ours a week or so ago) and I LOVE the idea of mop hockey…I know a few children who will enjoy having a go at that!

  9. That sounds fabulous! Hope you don’t mind me linking up my post about our trip to center parcs? It isn’t craft related but it is definitely family fun! xx

  10. Kate

    Sorry I know this is an old post but I just came across it and wanted to leave a comment. I love Katie Morag and have shared her stories with my own children and lots of children in school. I was fortunate enough to take a bunch of children along to a book fair to meet Mairi Hedderwick. She is a lovely lady and kept the children entertained telling them about the journey she had made to get to the mainland. The children wrote to Katie Morag after we read Katie Morag and the New Baby and they gave her some advice about dealing with the arrival of her baby brother. Mairi kindly sent a response from Katie Morag which she had beautifully illustrated. I can’t wait to share these books with my grand daughter!

    • Oh how fantastic! What a marvellous treasure to share! Thank you so much for taking the time to comment (and I always welcome comments no matter how old the post!) I am hanging on to the Katie Morag books in the hope that one day I can read them to my grandchildren too!

Leave a Reply

