Cybermummy – My View


If you have no idea what Cybermummy is I suggest you pop off and come back tomorrow because this will mean nothing to you!

I’ve had time now to reflect, the ringing in my ears has subsided and my voice is back; Cybermummy was quite an experience!

It was fabulous to finally meet so many friends, if a bit overwhelming – so many people, so little time! I had lots of hugs and kisses and many, many almost finished conversations. I missed seeing some people at all and caught glimpses of others in the distance and managed a wave or a smile and no more.It was frustrating! If I missed you, looked at you blankly or grinned at you inanely I can only apologise – it was hard to recognise people without their twitter avatars or Blog banners!

5 Things I Loved

1. Sitting on a squishy white sofa without worrying about spillages, talking to friends.

2. The Blogger to Blogger Inspiration session – they were fab and had me grinning from ear to ear.

3. The Crowd Sourced Keynote speeches – tears and laughter. Absolutely brilliant!

4. Sitting on the floor with my back to a wall, between two fabulous hairdressers, with Paula, eating lunch.

5. Sarah Brown – I could’ve listened to her for hours!

5 Things which could have been better

1. The food – not enough of it for me…I was starving

2. More seating for eating and chatting

3. Twitter names on badges and badges rather than lanyards which were difficult to see down by people’s waists/when they had turned back to front

4. I wasn’t keen on the passport. I’m not good at being controlled and that felt a bit controlling. Not all the stands were aimed at me or mine (so many were for babies and lots of us are beyond that point now) and I felt I would be wasting their time and my own.

5. Many of the sessions seemed to be aimed at people who are new to blogging, it would be nice to have more of a balance next year.

And One More Thing

I spent most of my day talking about Mozambique, Save the Children and Blogger Activism and pretending that I wasn’t bothered about not speaking on the activism panel but, actually, I find that I do mind. I returned from Africa three weeks ago, I am fired up and feisty and I have a lot to say about how blogging can be used to make a difference at so many levels, I would love to have been given the opportunity to speak to people as a group. It left me feeling sad.

Finally

The work which had gone into this conference was immense. No-one is going to satisfy all the punters all of the time at an event of such mammoth proportions and I take my hat off to Jen, Susanna and Sian for a job well done!

 

 

42 Comments

Filed under Uncategorized

42 responses to “Cybermummy – My View

  1. Ere ere! It was a great day! And I have to say: I was very surprised to hear you were not part of the Activist panel.. how odd. As you say, you had just come back from an amazing trip. You had helped change the world for millions of children and their families and yet… mmmh.

    Anyway. Lovely to meet you. Kiss you and hug you!

    Maggy

  2. I’m glad you had a good day Chris. Sorry not to have chatted but I reckoned there were new people who needed to meet you so I took a back seat. Hope you understood. If you’ve read my CM post you’ll see that SAve the Children was very firmly in my mind too.

  3. Good points, I didn’t like the passport either. What is it with lanyards always turning around the wrong way?!
    Was lovely to see you, glad to hear you are all fired up but sad that you didn’t get the opportunity to get it out. X

  4. I’m sorry I didn’t get to chat to you for longer. I had to butt in to say hi though, otherwise I would have been extremely disappointed at the lost opportunity. Can I ask, why you weren’t speaking in the Activism slot? Surely your experience is exactly what people would like to hear, first hand? Cx

    • I’m so glad you butted in and would love to have chatted properly, it was a very disjointed day for me – so many almost conversations. I’m not really sure why I wasn’t speaking, bit of a missed opportunity I think. x

  5. You know my thoughts, I am never very backward at coming forward. It was a very odd day all in all and I need a blogger social event

  6. It was one of those experiences you remember because of how people made you feel. Wish I got to speak to more people.
    Agree with much of what you say.

  7. Fi

    Know what lady? I was surprised you weren’t speaking either! I would’ve liked to hear! I went to that workshop which I got something out of but you’re right- you have fire in your belly so it would’ve been good to hear you speak.

    I’m doing #borntoplay in aid if save the children- come guest blog all that fire and show what and why we ate raiding money for!

  8. I didn’t go but a lot of what you’ve said has been repeated on other blogs so hopefully next year the organisers will take on board what everyone is saying and act on it.

  9. Was wonderful to see you again, I would have loved to see you up there in the Activist session. x

  10. I can see why you felt sad, however you had the chance to speak to lots of people individually and in groups and share the experiences of Mozambique (me included) it was wonderful to speak to you on a one-to-one basis rather at some distance, I was never someone who was going to take the mike and ask a question, too overwhelming. I hope that is some comfort.

    I wish I’d made the blogger to blogger session, from a selfish point of view because I got a mention, also because I love the Gallery. I choose activism, it’s something I’m interested in and it was an excellent antedote to all the ‘passport’ stuff. Lovely to meet you, so sorry if I over rubbed your arm.

    • The rubbing was lovely! I did love meeting so many people and, yes, that is some comfort…don’t get me wrong, this isn’t about ego or me it is about the project I have just been involved in, the impact blogging and tweeting had and the difference it made. From one small tweet 15 months ago came 30 million tweets and 47 444 signatures…phenomenal. I want to fire others up and show them that small voices can make a big noise. I’ll keep talking! x

    • I’m sure others told you how I used your blog as an example of a crap photo! I utterly adored that post you wrote and it’s a perfect example of how a seemingly rubbish picture can be transformed into something beautiful.
      But the best bit was saying ‘look at this rubbish photo’!

  11. I’m wondering if I should have gone (or not). I don’t have anything to promote, don’t think I would have got sponsorship, and don’t really like networking! I do feel like I’ve missed out on meeting some fantastic bloggers though…maybe next year!

  12. kat

    Sad you weren’t on the speaker list. Could have sworn I saw something saying you would be. That said, you were certainly in demand on the day – I saw lots of people seeking you out to say how they had been inspired. x

    • I talked, a lot! This isn’t about my ego or wishing to inspire people but a desire to talk about the wider picture and the potential impact blogging has…I’d like to start a debate really!

  13. Sorry, ditto, another one sorry not to meet you. I really admire what you, Josie, Sian and others have done on the activism front, surely THE most positive contribution this bloggy thing we do makes.

    • It does feel like a good thing…I know there are question marks over it and its true reach but it has to be a good thing if it makes some difference. It has to be good if it makes people sit up and take notice in a world where the words ‘compassion fatigue’ are bandied around and where people are looking for excuses not to send money or take action.

  14. I’m still regreting not having managed to talk to you on the day – you were always just across the way and busy

    I was surprised you weren’t speaking but from the looks of it you got across your passion in smaller groups which may have been as good a forum

    And the work you did with Save the Children has been incredible – that activism is what makes blogging for me

    • I think I did on reflection. My message may have got lost on a big platform…I am speaking at Blogcamp Bristol though so I can roar there! I thought you were fab with your question for Rachel Johnson!

  15. very well composed post, Chris. I am another who was suprised you weren’t on the activist panel especially with your trip being so current and recent. I’m in agreement with all the comments I’m seeing dotted around the place that we need a blogger’s social event (as Jen puts it) – an excuse to let our hair down with no blogging agenda involved – just a celebration of community and friendship. No pressure.

  16. So glad I got to fondle you in an inappropriate fashion . . .

  17. I have to agree with most of your suggestions. I didn’t do passports as my children are 10 and older. I would have also loved to hear you speak have been following your journey.

  18. Sorry you didn’t get to speak😦 maybe you’ll get the chance next year? or at a different conference? Oooh, maybe you could organise one of your own!
    Was lovely to meet you, if briefly! lol!🙂

  19. I have to admit I was quite suprised not to see you on the panel for blogger activists! Would have been interesting to hear from you! Maybe you can write us a dedicated blog post for all your readers of what you would have said??
    I agree on the food and passports too! I was STARVING! Thank god for cupcakes!

  20. I really admire what you did, and would love to be able to go and support the children, but I am not that brave. I have just tears writing about this. Well done you, and next time we want you to be on the activist panel😉 @Kahanka

Leave a Reply

