I’m Forever Blowing Bubbles


I posted this photo on Mocha Beanie Mummy‘s fabulous Silent Sunday yesterday with the promise that I would post an explanation today.

Once we had visited the child health clinic under the tree in April 7th village we were invited to the home of Lauria Machaiele. It was an opportunity too good to miss. A short hot walk through the village brought us to their dwelling, followed by a merry band of curious women and children interested to see what the visitors were up to now.

Lindsay had brought bubble mix with her so she could make a vlog and, while she went off to video Lauria and her children, Tracey and I took the opportunity to play with the other village children.

Shy at first and a little scared

It wasn’t long before they were doing what all children do with bubbles; laughing, chasing and popping them.

This is Francisco Macamo, he is five years old, just like my Bonus Boy

These beautiful women had shared their gorgeous children with me so I, in turn, shared mine with them. I showed them the iphone video I made of my children before I left home.

I will carry this day with me in my heart for the rest of my life.

The little girl in the red and white checked dress up there is one of Lauria’s 4 daughters and has recently recovered from pneumonia.

Vaccines and the health workers which come with them are an extremely cost-effective way of making an enormous long-term difference to the lives of people like this the world over.

SIGN THE PETITION HERE

It will take you moments but could help make a world of difference to millions of parents and children world-wide. Give them a chance.

Time is running out. Do it now.

I’m dreaming dreams,
I’m scheming schemes,
I’m building castles high.
They’re born anew,
Their days are few,
Just like a sweet butterfly.
And as the daylight is dawning,
They come again in the morning.
I’m forever blowing bubbles,
Pretty bubbles in the air.
They fly so high,
Nearly reach the sky,
Then like my dreams,
They fade and die.
Fortune’s always hiding,
I’ve looked everywhere,
I’m forever blowing bubbles,
Pretty bubbles in the air.
When cattle creep,
When I’m asleep,
To lands of hope I stray.
Then at daybreak,
When I awake,
My bluebird flutters away.
Happiness new seemed so near me,
Happiness come forth and heal me.
I’m forever blowing bubbles,
Pretty bubbles in the air.
They fly so high,
Nearly reach the sky,
Then like my dreams,
They fade and die.
Fortune’s always hiding,
I’ve looked everywhere,
I’m forever blowing bubbles,
Pretty bubbles in the air.
(Credited to James Kendis, James Brockman and Nat Vincent. Written in 1918)

24 Comments

Filed under Mozambique, Pass It On

24 responses to “I’m Forever Blowing Bubbles

  1. Oh missus. I sat here reading this and did a loud sniff. I suddenly realised that my nose was drippy as were my eyes! They are such beautiful children and with those bubbles, they are laughing without a care in the world, just as they should. You look like you were having a marvellous time, thank you so much for sharing this.

  2. Lovely post, Chris. You should be proud of everything you’ve achieved. Thanks to you, Lindsay and Tracey we’ve almost reached our vaccine action target! Thank you so much.

  3. Lovely post, and gorgeous children xx

  4. Fantastic stuff, Chris. With Save The Children’s support I think there is a great deal of hope here.

  5. Good job, Chris! Gorgeous smiling faces from lucky children who are receiving proper vaccines and medicine the rest of us take for granted.

  6. Thank you for sharing this and for writing about your time there. Having heard/read it mentioned many times, i felt compelled to sign the petition after reading your blog.

  7. This is (as I excpected it to be) beautiful. Thre is nothing quite like the magic that comes from bubble blowing with children :o)

  8. I love the bubbles, I love the idea of it all. I heard on the news this morning about GSK, just goes to show what you are doing is making a real difference, a marked difference and one that will save lives. well done my friend

  9. Fabulous images. You’ve done such a wonderful job Chris. I’ve signed and I’m sure many others have too. x

  10. The photos, your poem, this story you are telling is moving and inspiring….and an important reminder that when we all come together and give a little bit we can make a big difference.

  11. Bloody marvellous. Sorry spam filter, but it is. I’m as proud of you as a pushy mum with a medal winning child on sports day x

  12. Wonderful! Congratulations on all you’ve achieved so far and good luck with the final push.

Leave a Reply

