A View From Africa


If you’ve been wondering whether it’s worth signing that petition or making that noise. If you’ve been thinking ‘These things don’t make a difference, there’s no point’  I’m here to tell you that there is.

When I started blogging 15 months ago I didn’t believe that my little voice would bring me all the way to Mozambique. I never dreamed that one of my blog posts would be scooped up by the Bill and Melinda Gates Foundation and featured on their front page. I would’ve laughed if you had told me that I would be going to Downing Street next week to present our petition to the Prime Minister.

My little voice.

Standing up and being counted.

Sign it, now and ask all your friends to do the same. Encourage your children to sign it too for all the children in the world who don’t get vaccinated, then their voices will be heard too.

This is why.

Today I followed our vaccine on the next and final stage of his journey (he’s been tweeting as @MrVaccine, he’s a bit cheeky but he does a good job)

We visited the district health clinic in Guija and a wonderful woman called Mary of the Pains showed us how women receive healthcare  information with the use of her faithful flip chart.

We had a look at the vaccine fridges and watched as our vaccine was packed into his little box for the journey out to the village. He whizzed off and I got to follow him riding pillion!

I shall never complain about potholes in Somerset again, I did have to cling on pretty tightly but it was wonderful to be bumping along through open country rather than being confined to a jeep. My bottom may be bruised but it was the ride of a lifetime!

We arrived in April the 7th village (April the 7th is national women’s day in Mozambique) to find women already gathered at the health clinic under a tree.

They queued as I queued with mine, waiting to have their babies weighed and passing the time of day with the other mothers.

Babies and small children were weighed just as  mine were.

If you are still wondering if signing the petition is worth it these should sway you

This is the little girl who got our vaccine, isn’t she worth it?

Are they?

I had a fantastic day looking at what aid does best, this is where it works and it needs to be allowed to do more.

(I have more to say about today but I have been up since 5am it is now 10.45pm and I have other stuff still to do!)

 

 

24 Comments

Filed under Mozambique, Pass It On, Uncategorized

24 responses to “A View From Africa

  1. Wow. What an amazing experience.

    You guys rock!

  2. Oh just cried at that little girl and your words. Beautiful children. You look like you’re having a fabulous time.

  3. These are so special & I’m loving linking them for our children to read & understand. I’m really proud of you & feel so pleased that you asked THO to help!

  4. Who could possibly read this and not agree that every. single. vaccine. is worth every bit of effort these wonderful people are making to get them out there.
    You guys are awesome. I’m following your journey so closely and am thrilled at the response you have had over the last week particularly.
    Well done Chris and everyone involved in this campaign.
    Well done Save the Children.
    David, you have to take note. PLEASE.
    MJM.

  5. Utterly fabulous post. Well bloody done you x

  6. jos pinto

    Fantastic photos – beautiful children. You look like you are having an amazing time!! So proud of what you have achieved. Who could fail to be moved?

  7. Sobbing… They are all worth it! You are fabulous xx

  8. Stop it. You are bringing tears to my eyes.

    M x

  9. Victoria

    Wow, just wow. SO proud of you xxx

  10. Fab post Chris. I have tears in my eyes.

  11. Hello Chris
    Those pictures are fantastic! You’re doing such an amazing job raising awareness about the importance of vaccines. And thanks metajugglermum for the kind words about Save the Children. From Louise (Save the Children).

  12. This is simply fabulous. It’s hard to grasp how hard it can be for other Mums, when it’s going so well for your own kids. Looking at these pictures makes it all so real. We know it happens, we just don’t see it for what it is.

    Thanks for blogging this, thanks for making it so absolutley real and thanks for making difference – you speak for so many other Mums (and Dads) and for being there, right there, where it matters, you have made a huge difference and I’m sure it’s an experience you will never forget.

    A bit of a big tick on the ‘Things to Do Before I Die’ list

  13. Becky

    Mde me cry too how absolutely wonderful ! Good for you Chris. A precious little girl and a story well told

  14. Thanks for taking us with you on this journey Christine.

  15. Fabulous, amazing, incredible. And getting picked up by Bill Gates Foundation – very powerful. Huge congrats on everything so far. x

  16. Anyone who says these children don’t deserve vaccines is heartless. Keep up the good work. X

  17. Oh my goodness!! I bet it’s all so overwhelming for you. I’m so in awe of you ladies and really proud that you’ve reached so many people! Hugs x

  18. The images of that health clinic under the tree have been SO powerful. I imagine that day will stay with you vividly for the rest of your life. Such a fantastic trip and cause, and you have done it proud xx

  19. Wow, so brilliant to see what you were doing and to see the little girl who got the vaccine. So much perspective too, makes me think of our health clinic, stuffed full of toys, and vaccines.

  20. Pingback: What Good Bloggers Have In Common | HerMelness Speaks

  21. Pingback: Save the children pass it on | My Blog

Leave a Reply

