Pass It On! – A Chance To Grow


Maggy at Red Ted Art and Josie at Sleep Is For The Week are running a crafty meme to spread the word ahead of the Vaccine and Immunisation Conference in London on June 13th where we have a chance to persuade world leaders to save 4 million lives in 4 hours.

These children deserve the chance to grow up, we need to get as many signatures as possible on that petition and then to keep making noise on our blogs, on Twitter and Facebook and in the traditional media. We have to stand up for these children and their parents and make our voices heard. No child should be dying of a preventable illness; it’s not right.

I love the clear simple message of this crafty meme; if you give a child a chance to grow, what will they be? My Darling Girl and My Bonus Boy wanted to join in and who am I to stop them?

Darling Girl’s is self-explanatory:

Bonus Boy wants to grow up big and strong like this tree and he would like to be an artist and inventor please:

The challenge is simple and, hopefully, will get a nice little conversation going in your house about what your children would like to be when they grow up!

1) Get your child to either draw or craft a self-portrait of themselves now or in the future. Check out Maggy’s self-portrait post for  some tips to get the littlies interested!

2) Sign the Save the Children petition and then pass it onto your friends

3) Write a blog post about it as soon as possible, including info about Save the Children and the petition. We want as many people linked up AND signed up the petition by Sunday 29th May 2011

4) Tag 8 fellow blogger friends

5) Come back and link up your posts, so we can all share your craftiness (You’ll have to link on Maggy’s or Josie’s blogs as mine won’t accept the code – pah)

6) If you have time, visit each other posts and say hello!

I’m tagging the following people (and hoping they haven’t been tagged already)

Brighton Mum Teenage Angst (I know yours are teens but this is so important, can you get them to join in?!)

Kailexness

Laura at Are We Nearly There Yet Mummy?

Cathy at Nurture Store

Mummylimited

Tiddlyompompom

The Boy And Me

In Search of The Perfect Triangle

Victoria at It’s A Small World After All

And the rest of you, anyone of you who is reading this and asked how you could help…let’s get the ball rolling!

14 Comments

Filed under Children's Development, Get Crafty, Memes, Mozambique, Pass It On

14 responses to “Pass It On! – A Chance To Grow

  1. Jenny paulin

    Your Childrens self portraits are fantastsic – just like their mum🙂
    I love BB drawing a tree to represent his future , so clever x

  2. Lovely art-work.
    My 10 year old is dead set on being an actress too (she has the right temperament!)

  3. Hmm, an acting, singing lion tamer. The blog should be well worth reading!

  4. Each and every time I read another “meme entry”, it makes me *sniff* and *smile* and be *oh so proud*…. and yours did all those all over again. Aren’t your kids simply adorable? And perfect? And lovely?

    How awesome to want to be as big and strong as a tree? And how fabulous how your DD really gave hers so much thought and explanation (a singer is indeed a fab ambition).

    Thanks Chris for getting us all excited and supporting such a fabulous cause!

    Maggy xxx

    • I love his tree! I’m also rather glad that DD is not going to be a lion tamer. I can’t thank you enough for backing this trip with all your vigour and enthusiasm, you are marvellous!🙂 xxx

  5. Have just written my blog-post and am waiting for The Boy to wake up to draw his picture. A brilliant meme, and I’m so proud of you for going on this trip. Well done you.

  6. These are glorious. I would love to meet your kids one day so I they can tell me all about their dreams some more. Maybe they can help me decide what I can be when I grow up because I haven’t quite figured it out myself yet either. I’m thinking I might be a tree too actually, that sounds pretty good to me.

    Big kiss for all of you. x

  7. These are fab….the ‘roooooaaaar’ on the lion tamer bit made me smile🙂
    Great stuff x

  8. Signed the petition, I hope to get the smalls drawing by the weekend

Leave a Reply

