Getting Crafty – A Village for The Little People


My daughter is a collector of stones. This week we decided that we should do something with some of them!

Using acrylic paints we painted in two colours, one for the house and one for the roof. We allowed this to dry completely before adding details (this took no time at all in the current heat wave!)

Everyone had a go and we had a lovely afternoon chatting while we painted.

This slideshow requires JavaScript.

My daughter is doing another one while I write this post and I want to have a go at a castle. We need to cover them with PVA or varnish when we’re done to give them longevity. We are hoping the fairies may move in!

We adapted this idea fromย Green Crafts for Childrenby Emma Hardy which we borrowed from the library.

For more Get Crafty ideas visit Red Ted Art

Happily shared with Nurturestore’s Carnival of Spring Play and with Creative Friday



42 Comments

Filed under Family Fun, Get Crafty, Holiday Fun, Rainy Day Play

42 responses to “Getting Crafty – A Village for The Little People

  1. OMG they are GORGEOUS!! And I am having a serious bout of CRAFT ENVY!!!!!!!! I wish we had thought of these… well… we shall DEFINTELY be saving bigger stones and one day my children will also have some. LOVE THEM!

    M xx

  2. Oh I love these! Absolutely beautiful! And I only wish that I was small enough to move in myself๐Ÿ˜‰

  3. Now I understand what you meant about stone painting! They are gorgeous!

  4. OMG they are gorgeous. x

  5. What a bright and cheery fairy village!

  6. (and thanks for linking up ;-))

  7. my daughter is also a collector of stones. these are brilliant x

  8. Absolutely gorgeous! I love the trees full of lovely pink, may I please move into that one?

  9. Love this, did you see the guerrilla stone planting around town on someone’s blog (obviously I can’t remember who it was)? They painted them all and put funny faces on, then just left them all over the place.

  10. This is SUPER cute!!! Definitely have to do this with my daughter when she’s a bit older.

  11. What a fabulous idea!! Wow, I’d want to move in, how adorable. What kind of rent are you charging? ;0)

  12. Becky

    Very sweet i think we may pinch your idea too.

  13. Those are sooo sweet! My daughter once had a pet stone (which she named) for a day when we were at the seaside. We made her leave him at the beach, but we should have brought him home and painted him!

  14. Very artistic young lady.๎–

  15. Pingback: This week’s (rather late) Blog Love | LittleStuff

  16. Those are completely darling!!!

  17. These are such fun. I teach kindergarten and we may use this idea to make “beach” houses since we are studying oceans and islands this year.
    I love the idea of painting them and leaving them all over town, too. Wouldn’t it be fun to find one you didn’t do in your yard?

  18. Beautiful I am definitely going to get mine to do these, and do a few myself I think. X

  19. Oh jeez I think even I could manage this one๐Ÿ™‚ they are SO FREAKIN’ CUTE!

  20. … and just showed my 15yo daughter – she say “AAAAAWWWWW they’re so KYOOT!”

    I guess I have an accomplice now๐Ÿ™‚

  21. Oh these are GORGEOUS!!! When my boys are older we are definintely doing this, we have about a million ‘special stones’ which we’ve dragged back from the beach over the years! xx

  22. Jenny paulin

    What a great idea! They look fantastic๐Ÿ™‚

  23. Oh Christine these are fantabulous. We used to paintpebbles when I was little; my sister and I would spend ages painting rainbows or ladybirds, etc. Never thought to paint them as houses, that’s going into the bank of resources for the future!

  24. Pingback: Zombie Jesus Day |

  25. theWriteRach

    I love them! They look fabulous!
    Thanks for sharing pics.
    Unfortunately I have no children of my own to craft with but do with other people’s children if I get the chance!

  26. These are so beautiful! We have done stone painting before but I have never thought of doing them like this, what a wonderful idea x

Leave a Reply

