Meat Free Monday – Falafel in Pitta Pockets


Welcome back to Meat Free Monday! If it’s your first visit I am a vegetarian mother of four veggie children and wife to a veggie man. I started this slot in response to many requests from friends. I decided to run it on Mondays because it fits in well with the Meatless Monday campaign which aims to help people reduce their meat intake. Many of my readers are not vegetarian but are looking for tasty veggie meals to share with their families.

Today we are eating falafel in pitta pockets with salad. Delicious!


Ingredients (serves 4 – 6)

2 tins of chick peas, rinsed and drained then mashed by hand or whizzed in a food mixer

1 large onion finely chopped

1 egg, whisked

1 tsp garam masala (or other spice blend of your choice)

1 tsp paprika

1tsp ground coriander

2 tbsps fresh garden herbs, finely chopped (I used mint and chives today but parsley and corainder work very well too!)

1 scant tsp dried mixed herbs

2 cloves garlic, finely chopped

Salt and freshly ground black pepper to taste

You will also need 3 bowls. One with plain flour in, one with another beaten egg and one containing bread crumbs.


Method

Combine all the ingredientsĀ  for the falafel together. Take a tablespoon of the mixture at a time and roll into a chestnut sized ball. Roll each ball first in the flour, then the beaten egg, then the breadcrumbs.

In batches of 4 or 5 deep fry your falafel for a few minutes until golden brown and crispy.

Keep them warm in a medium oven while you fry the rest.

I serve these up in a big bowl next to a mound of grilled pitta pockets, a bowl of salad leaves, Houmous, chilli sauce, chopped tomatoes and cucumber and everyone helps themselves and constructs their own tea. Lovely!

Enjoy!

For more Meatfree Monday ideas look here

and here


12 Comments

Filed under Chris Cooks, Meat Free Monday

12 responses to “Meat Free Monday – Falafel in Pitta Pockets

  1. Thanks for this, I am going to give this a go. x

  2. That sounds really really nice. I went through a vegetarian phase, but unfortunately lapsed. The same with son number one. We both still like to eat a lot of veggie stuff though and I think even *I* could manage to make those.

  3. Joan, my wife likes veggie food so I’m going to have a go tomorrow and I bet I’ll enjoy them

  4. Those look delicious. I don’t breadcrumb my falafels, but I think they sound nicer, so might try that next time!

  5. As a sceptical veg eater I must admit these were delicious. Thanks

  6. I am a devoted carnivore, but these falafels sound glorious. Going to give them a whirl for kids’ tea this week.

Leave a Reply

