Mrs Lister’s Q&A


I have been tagged in the Q&A meme which is doing the rounds. Mrs Lister saw these questions in The Guardian and thought it would make a good blog meme, she was right! Thanks to Liz and Karen who both tagged me for this one!

Which living person do you most admire, and why?

Ooh, a toughie. I admire a lot of people but I’m going to have to put Mr Thinly Spread. He built our business up from scratch 15 years ago, he supports me and the children financially and emotionally. He had had rough, rough times at work recently and he is coming through the other side stronger and smiling. And he still makes my knees wobble after 23 years!

When were you happiest?

On my wedding day

What was your most embarrassing moment?

Pulling the ‘help’ chord in a disabled toilet I shouldn’t have been in instead of the toilet flush and having to rush into my trousers and away before anyone saw me!

Aside from property, what’s the most expensive thing you’ve bought?

A yacht – which we no longer own and which makes me sad.

What is your most treasured possession?

My Grandmother’s engagement ring.

Where would you like to live?

By the sea.

What’s your favourite smell?

Sandalwood

Who would play you in the film of your life?

Helena Bonham Carter

What is your favourite book?

The Moonstone by William Wilkie Collins or Rebecca by Daphne Du Maurier or The Sea, The Sea by Iris Murdoch or too many to mention and it changes all the time. I would take these three to a desert island though.

What is your most unappealing habit?

Doing three things at once and pretending I’m listening to the person speaking to me when I am obviously not.

What would be your fancy dress costume of choice?

Maid Marion (I love Medieval style costume – my wedding dress was in this style and green and red)

What is your earliest memory?

Getting thrown off a sledge head first into a pile of snow. I was about 3.

What is your guiltiest pleasure?

Reading when I should be writing and writing when I should be reading. Swings and roundabouts!

What do you owe your parents?

I owe my Mum more than I can say.

To whom would you most like to say sorry, and why?

I say sorry when it’s needed.

What or who is the greatest love of your life?

Mr Thinly Spread

What does love feel like?

Everything.

What was the best kiss of your life?

The first one with Mr Thinly Spread and many, many since.

Which words or phrases do you most overuse?

‘Bizarre’ ‘Absolutely’ No more screen time and ‘Have you got any homework/done your music practice/cleaned your teeth’

What is the worst job you’ve done?

Temporary work answering the telephone during the British Gas sell off

If you could edit your past, what would you change?

Nothing. It made me who I am, warts and all (not that I’ve got warts you understand!) and I can live with that. If you went fiddling about who knows what the knock on effects would be!

What is the closest you’ve come to death?

I’ve been lucky so far though I have felt, on one or two occasions, when Mr TS has been sailing me and my small people in hairy conditions and we are surfing down waves rather than sailing them on a 42 foot surfboard that death could be just a second away! (Sorry, very long sentence!)

What do you consider your greatest achievement?

My children

When did you last cry, and why?

Watching the new Harry Potter DVD yesterday. I always weep at films. The kids ignore me now!

How do you relax?

Reading, knitting and walking

What single thing would improve the quality of your life?

A cleaner

What is the most important lesson life has taught you?

Don’t take anything or anyone for granted

Now I have to nominate some more bloggers to ‘do the meme’ and pass the baton on.

Sarh at Over The Hill Mum

Julia at What Will Julia Do Next

The Boy and Me

Karin at Cafe Bebe

11 Comments

Filed under Memes, Uncategorized

11 responses to “Mrs Lister’s Q&A

  1. Hahahah LOL you put cleaner too! I love this meme…

  2. Mr. TS is very handsome lovely you love him still x

  3. Thank you so much for the tag! Love your responses & I can share that pulling the wrong cord has happened to me!

  4. Love this post! Excellent questions. Got to say, love the sound of your wedding dress, you need to put a pic up asap! So many of your answers I totally identify with. Thanks for sharing😀 x

  5. Liz

    I’m just going to say… hubba hubba xxx

  6. You in a maid marion outfit? *strokes chin thoughtfully*

  7. Really nice account of your ups and downs, heartwarming.. I cry at films as well, it still shocks my kids…. How old are yours? Mine are 4,4,7 . Hope a new yacht comes your way very soon:)

  8. Haha, lots of people have answered cleaner to the last one!

Leave a Reply

