How Do You Perceive Me? – The One Word Meme


Right (takes a deep breath) I have been tagged in a meme it would be very rude to ignore/forget about/hide from much as I’m inclined to! It involves ME asking YOU to sum me up in one word (gulps, blushes, shuffles feet). The very lovely Michelle over at Mummy From The Heart has come up with the, frankly quite brilliant, One Word Meme.

Here it is explained in her words!

This got me thinking about an email I received a few years back, one of those circular things that I normally hate but this one I loved and have never forgotten.  It was about the power of positive affirmations and how knowing what positive things others think of you can boost your own self-esteem.  It talked of an inspirational teacher who got all her children to write one positive word down to describe the other children in the class and then they had to hand them in.  The teacher then collated all the positive words for each child into a special sheet for them and handed it to them to read and keep.  They learnt that their peers saw them in ways they had never imagined and it had an immense effect on them.  The story goes that one of them died and a number of them attended the funeral and it was found that they all still had their lists 20 or so years later as they had been really touched by this loving gesture.  Did this really happen?  Who knows, but I love the sentiment of this story and therefore it does not matter to me if it was real.

Well, what about if us bloggers and virtual friends did something similar?  How marvellous would we all feel to learn these new facets of ourselves that we did not know existed.  Someone may say I am inspirational (another one I have heard about myself a few times recently) and me being me I would say ‘no not me’ but what have I done there?  Rubbished their opinion and that is not right, only they know if I have actually inspired them to do something.  If people are kind enough to give us a compliment we should be gracious enough to accept it…. and why not go one step further and actually go out and ask for it?

Well that is what I want us all to do.  I am creating a meme, called the 1 Word Meme and I would love for every one of us to be able to collate all the positive words left by our real life friends, virtual friends and fellow bloggers so that we each have a sheet of positive affirmations to treasure and boost our self-esteem.

So, over to you (gazes out into the wasteland, hopes there is someone there) how would you sum me up in one word? I’ll give you a starter to help ‘Chris at Thinly Spread is…’

Goodness, that was hard! As this is a meme I am going to tag a handful of my favourite people to have a go at writing their own ‘How Do You Perceive Me’ post so they can have lots of positive, life affirming things said about them too…I like this bit!

Ella at Notes From Home

Nova at Cherished By Me

Julie at Allaboutus and Such Like

Julia at What Will Julia Do Next

Liz at Me and My Shadow

I’d actually like to tag everyone I know because I think this is a lovely idea so if I know you and you’d like a go at it…off you go!


27 Comments

Filed under Memes

27 responses to “How Do You Perceive Me? – The One Word Meme

  1. Amazing or should that be awe-inspiring or beautiful inside and out. What will I choose?

    Amazing sums them all up.

    Mich x

  2. I’m not tagged but will answer anyway…..
    inspirational.

  3. For a lady with time so Thinly Spread ….. Patient

  4. Amazing!

    Thank you for the tag!

  5. I would say Beautiful! xx

  6. MyLifesChaotic

    Supportive xx

  7. Since all my other answers were taken: Brave

    Muwahhh!

  8. Liz Burton

    Is Christ-like a word?!

    Can I say insprational too? X

  9. Michelle Twin Mum

    See I knew pople would say extra lovely things about you. For me Christ-like is just the ultimate! wow

    Mich x

  10. role-model (it’s two words but the hyphen makes it allowed, okay)

    x

  11. Chris at Thinly Spread is… conscientious.

  12. Damn I wanted to do inspirational and role-model.

    I’m going for ‘nurturing’!

  13. Agree with all the others, so I shall go for: Supermum.

  14. If I’m not allowed to choose a word that has already been mentioned already, I will go for ‘Wonderful’.

    Thank you for the tag xx

  15. mum

    Honest.
    [ but I agree with all the other comments!! ]

  16. Pingback: Where I am around the internet VII — Notes From Home

  17. Pingback: The One Word Meme… | Allaboutus and such like

  18. I’m a bit confused…as usual. Do I say it here or on my post? I think you are
    INSPIRATIONAL!
    I always think that about you. I know it’s already been said above but it would be my biggest word to describe you X
    thanks for the tag, I will do it.🙂

  19. Imaginative. Your ideas for learning through play are inspirational – I’m mentally filing them away for when Baby Badger is a little older.

Leave a Reply

