Meat Free Monday – Parsnip and Caramelised Onion Tart


Welcome once again to Meat Free Monday! This week I want to share this delicious family recipe which sees my daughter, who is a ‘parsnip hater’ scoffing them down happily! It is especially good this year as the parsnips have been well and truly frosted which brings out their delicious sweetness!

I thought it would be nice to pop a linky list on the bottom so if you have any lovely family friendly meat free recipes to share with us, please do. There are lots more of my recipes in the Chris Cooks category in my sidebar.

Ingredients

25g butter

3 onions sliced

500g parsnips, peeled and quartered lengthways

3 free range eggs

300ml milk

50g mature cheddar cheese, grated

1 pack of ready made shortcrust pastry, rolled out and used to line a 23cm flan dish. Bake blind. See this post if you’re not sure what this means. I do make my own pastry if I’m in the mood but ready made is easy and just as good.

Method

  • Fry onions in butter for ten minutes over gentle heat until golden and caramelised, add salt and freshly ground black pepper to taste.
  • Cook parsnips in boiling water for 5 – 10 minutes until tender, drain and mash them until smooth
  • Beat the eggs and milk together in a bowl or large jug and stir in half the cheese, season (I put a little Dijon mustard in too) and stir in the onions and the parsnips.
  • Pour into the blind baked pastry case and scatter the remaining cheese over the top
  • Bake at 200°C  for 25-30 minutes until just set in the middle

Serve with baked potatoes and salad or new potatoes and steamed vegetables.

Powered by Linky Tools

Click here to enter your link and view this Linky Tools list…

1. Crispy Bean Cakes with Chilli and Lime Yoghurt

If you fancy going meat free every Monday, pop over to the Meatless Monday website for more ideas!

12 Comments

Filed under Chris Cooks, Meat Free Monday, Quick Cooks, Vegetarian

12 responses to “Meat Free Monday – Parsnip and Caramelised Onion Tart

  1. What a fab idea, may have a think about this later. I’ve been a veggie for 12yrs now, can be tricky to find new and exciting recipes.

    Can I include Quorn in the recipe?

  2. Ooh i’ve got parsnips and pastry (yes, ready made) in the fridge.
    Thing is my eldest won’t eat a single thing that resembles a vegetable. So, how obvious are the parsnips – will i get away with it?

    x

  3. Sounds yum yum. I make a lot of quiche for my two – but it is usually, onion, broccoli and sweetcorn/ red pepper. This will make a nice change!

    Thanksfor the recipe!

    Maggy

  4. Jenny paulin

    I am not a fan of parsnips but. Am wondering if I cold eatnthis as your daughter does! It looks very nice. So on a Monday we can link up an meat free recipe we have made or am going to make? Great idea love getting new ways is using vegetables.

  5. Ooh that sounds really nice. To be truly family friendly for us I’d have to omit the cheese, the butter and the pastry though : ( Other half has to eat really, really, low fat now on a permanent basis. Perhaps I can adapt it somehow – I’m getting quite adept at that!
    Meat free is really good for us, and I’m always on the look out for really tasty recipes which are both extremely low-fat and vegetarian. I’ve collected quite a few now. Must get round to sharing them some time!

  6. Ours is now in the oven. My son helped make it, so hopefully he will eat it! We made a large one and a mini one.. the mini one usually goes down well…

    Thanks for the recipe!

    Maggy

Leave a Reply

