Shark Boy. So serious, he’s funny!


Bonus Boy has a swimming lesson on a Thursday evening and I endure the incredible heat of the ‘viewing room’ to watch him splashing about happily. His swimming teacher was voted best in the UK and she is, frankly, marvellous. I have now forgiven her for being my boy’s first love (‘I want to send her a love letter Mummy cos I love her’) because she is very lovely, he has good taste.

One of the things she has used to induce this state of adoration is a shark fin float. Bonus Boy’s favourite film of all time (at the moment) is The Adventures of Shark Boy & Lava Girl . When Simone (for that is his beloved’s name) produced these for them to wear, he shivered with suppressed excitement. Yes, of COURSE I bought him one; in ‘Black Mummy, sharks do absolutely NOT have PINK fins. Bleurgh!’

These floats (serious teacher voice for a brief moment) are fantastic because they wear them on their backs, they support them in the water and they don’t get in the way of their arms learning to do the doggy paddle front crawl!

But best of all, you can wear them at home and run around the house being Shark Boy! How fab is that?

This post was written for this week’s Gallery at Sticky Fingers. The challenge is to ‘show Tara the funny’; a picture which makes you laugh. These make me laugh because he is so serious…can you see him practising his breathing in the last one?! Do go and have a giggle at the other entries.

13 Comments

Filed under The Gallery

13 responses to “Shark Boy. So serious, he’s funny!

  1. Oh MY!!!! how COOOOOL are those!! Red Ted is SO going to get one when he starts swimming properly!! YAY!

    And the photos are hilarious!

    Maggy

  2. I loved that post – it brought back so many memories.

  3. Fabulous! I must have one! x

  4. Jen

    dun dun dun dun dun dun dun, the Jaws music running through my head😀 He is much cuter than Jaws though:) Jen

  5. I want one of those for me! Let alone! x

  6. Haha, that’s brilliant! Love it!

  7. Your son is a very funny boy! Brilliant photos making me smile lots🙂 x

  8. If he was in the Atlantic, he’d be scary. On the kitchen chair – perhaps not so!! Made me chuckle – thank you!

  9. Fab pics and what a great way to get small children really excited about swimming!

  10. This made me laugh, not least because there are a whole load of fish-out-of-water puns that spring to mind. I think I drank too much coffee😉

  11. Oh, we LOVE Shark Boy and Lava Girl. It’s one of our favourite films ever. Hope you’re managing to get lots of writing done – I’m having a quick break whilst eating pizza with the children!

  12. So funny, loved this little story in pictures!

Leave a Reply

