Apple and Autumn Fruits Cupcakes (From Garden and Field)


I am still feeling happily autumnal and this recipe combines apples from the tree in my garden

Blackberries from my foraging

and raspberries, redcurrants and blackcurrants from the freezer. They are delicious and temptingly moreish and although I made a dozen yesterday there are none left today!

This recipe is adapted from The Australian Women’s Weekly Complete Book of Cupcakes and Baking which I have failed to find for you online but which I picked up at WHSmiths last week at the knockdown price of £6 (RRP£25)! Their recipe is for Apple and Raspberry Cupcakes but with blackberries abundant it seems a shame not to use them!

Ingredients

125 softened butter

1 tsp vanilla extract

165g  caster sugar

2 eggs

225g self-raising flour

125ml milk

150g fresh or frozen mixed berries (I used blackberries, raspberries, redcurrants and blackcurrants) If you are using frozen don’t defrost them just pop them straight in or they bleed through the mix and it goes a bit soggy)

1 large apple peeled and finely chopped

Icing sugar for artistic dusting with flourish

Method

1.  Preheat oven to 180C. Line 12 hole muffin pan with paper cases (Mine are from the new range at Sainsburys)

2. Beat butter, vanilla extract and sugar with an electric mixer until light and fluffy. Allow me to introduce you to my best friend in the kitchen at this point…..

Apologies for the quality of the photo but my knees go very trembly every time I look at it…isn’t it GORGEOUS?

3. Beat in the eggs, gradually. (It really does work best if they are at room temperature as there is less chance of it all separating then!) Stir in the sifted flour and the milk in two batches.

4. Stir in the fruit.

5. Divide the mixture between the cases and bake for about 30 minutes. Allow to stand in the muffin pan for about 5 minutes before putting them onto a wire rack to cool.

6. Dust artistically and with flourish with icing sugar.

This post was written for Tara’s Gallery at Sticky Fingers. This week the topic is Food, probably my favourite thing of all (because my family aren’t things so don’t count for this one!).


18 Comments

Filed under Chris Cooks, Quick Cooks, The Gallery

18 responses to “Apple and Autumn Fruits Cupcakes (From Garden and Field)

  1. Jenny paulin

    Oooh I like your mixer! Very posh🙂
    I love the way you have shown the main ingredients being collected first from the great outdoors to the finished products which look (and I am sure also tasted) delicious! Mmm please pass one my way x

  2. Oh scrummy yummy! LOVE your apple picking photo! I should do an apple picking photo in our garden. Not so much stretching, but bending down, a much loved, but small tree in a pot!! Still, we have apples! Am also *envious* of yoru blackberries. Ours were rubbish this year, they need some good cutting back. *sigh*

    And don’t get me started on your mixer. I have a 25 year old hand mixer thing with two whisks.

    *Sobs* feeling very neglected now. London life certainly isn’t the good life *sobs again*

    Maggy x

  3. (On the upside, my comments don’t seem to be landing in your spam filter anymore. *Hooray*)

  4. Is it wrong to have mixer envy?😉

    Loving it all, missus. Cept I want that shiny KitchenAid in my kitchen.😀

  5. Mmmm, they look lovely. Will give them a go.
    Lovely mixer by the way.😀

  6. Ooh, yummy. I think I’ll make them tomorrow. I love my KitchenAid too – I have to confess I stroke it all the time when I’m in the kitchen!

  7. If you love gadgets, you have to get a mini tart shaper! I shall say no more but your life will feel even more complete!

  8. Agghhhhhhhhhh you have a kitchen aid!!! I want one! Maybe for Xmas eh?!! Love your cupcakes too🙂

  9. The recipe sounds easy to make and really yummy, especially with the abundance of forest fruits you added there.

  10. Food mixers make you go trembly at the knees? Is this a common affliction? *makes notes…*

    Your recipe sounds great, but being lazy means I will have to get someone to do it for me.

    Nicely shot.🙂

  11. That apple picking photo is fantastic, and I have serious mixer envy going on🙂

  12. Your apple picker seems so professional, hard to find these days😉.

    I love your new friend, my new friend will hopefully be popping down the chimney with Santa.

  13. I have a Kitchen Aid on my wishlist too, meantime I use my trusty old Moulinex (so out of date)
    Love your cakes and I bet they were eaten quickly too!

  14. Great pictures, and thanks for the recipe, will try it out😉 @Kahanka

  15. Gosh they look truly gorgeous!! Am ever so slightly jealous of that amazing mixer too😉

  16. Thanks for posting the recipe, I must try those!

    Very jealous of your Kitchenaid. I’m not surprised the photo was a bit blurred🙂 I’m still mixing vigorously with a wooden spoon.

  17. Pingback: Seasons For The Gallery (Yes, of course I did Autumn!) « Thinly Spread

Leave a Reply

