Bonus Boy


In the Spring of 2005 we re-mortgaged our house and bought a boat. The Thinly Spreads spread themselves even thinner and it was very exciting and just a bit scary. Sailing with three children! Small children, aged at that point 9, 7 and 5. Madness.

On our first family sail I went off tea and into panic. I knew this feeling all too well and it wasn’t seasickness because I don’t suffer from that. When I got home the blue line proved me right. Bonus Boy was on his way.

I spent the 9 months of my pregnancy worrying. Was there room for him in our already busy family? There was a big age gap between him and the others, how would I cope? How would I sail pregnant? How would I sail with a baby? A toddler?

I needn’t have worried. There was a Bonus Boy sized place in the family which became apparent the moment he was born and he is a real Boaty Bonus Boy.

This was written for Tara Cain’s wonderful Gallery at Sticky Fingers, please go and look at some of the other fantastic entries.

42 Comments

Filed under family life, The Gallery

42 responses to “Bonus Boy

  1. Paula

    He’s so perfect, and I’ve always loved the moniker you give him. Lovely post xx

  2. I just love his nickname & he is so gorgeous! A real bonus!

  3. Red Ted Art

    Lovely story of discovering the Bonus Boy and how he fits into your family! Lovely photo too!!

  4. Love the picture and love his nickname. I love the look of pure happiness on his face x

  5. What a cute little pixie face! He was certainly a bonus. Sailing with three kids – I’m in awe.

  6. A lovely, lovely Bonus Boy picture. A very cheeky grin.

  7. whatshappeningatmyhouse

    Lovely pic, and great story, too x

  8. loving that picture!

  9. parklover

    If I went off tea, I’d know there was something going on too! Your boy looks very much at home on your boat.

  10. What a face! And what a story! My brother’s a bonus boy too, and I can’t imagine life without him. I suppose so is one of my smallers, but as they come as a matching pair, I can’t decide which one! (I really did go into a panic though…!)

  11. Aww, what a lovely photo. That made me chuckle as I have a bonus boy too — can’t ever imagine life without him though.

  12. So that’s why he’s Bonus Boy! Wow, he’s such a cutey. Look at that smile.๐Ÿ™‚

  13. What a treasure! Wow, you must be busy though, and I cant imagine your grocery bill!!

  14. How perfect, he is a real smiler. Enjoy your Bonus Boy

  15. Butter really couldn’t melt, could it? What a cutie.

  16. What a lovely story. He looks so happy in that pic!

  17. Now doesn’t he look happy?! Made me smile, he’s cute!

  18. I had a bonus boy too. Took me a while to get used to the fact that I was pregnant but once he was born I was over the moon. Lovely pic x

  19. I have a bonus girl (my fourth). Love her so much she makes my heart explode! But don’t tell the others. I bet your bonus boy gets as many kisses as my bonus girl x

  20. He’s a salty dog if I ever saw one!

  21. How lovely! There is always room for one more – even when you think there isn’t. As long as there is love (and enough cash to buy beans for supper)…
    obviously got sea legs in utero!

  22. Pingback: The Gallery-Friendship « Thinly Spread

  23. Pingback: The Gallery/Writing Workshop-Emotion « Thinly Spread

Leave a Reply

