7 Deadly Sins?


Here is my photo post for Tara’s Gallery. This week the prompt was ‘The 7 Deadly Sins’ and it has provoked a lot of thought. What makes a sin sinful?

Is my pride in my children a sin?

Is my wrath at the dishes piled on top of the dishwasher, rather than popped inside it, a sin?

Is my teenage son's sloth on a Sunday morning/afternoon a sin?

Was my children's greed at Easter a sin?

Is my lust for my husband a sin?

Is my envy of the beautiful garden at Stourhead House a sin?

Is my smallest child's...

gluttonous behaviour with a cake mix bowl

gluttonous behaviour with cake mix...

a sin?

The answer seems to be that they are only sins if they hurt someone.

39 Comments

Filed under The Gallery

39 responses to “7 Deadly Sins?

  1. Red Ted Art

    Noooooo! They are not!!!
    ๐Ÿ˜‰

  2. A nice collection of the 7 sins๐Ÿ™‚

  3. Jay

    Those are the kinds of sins I could live with… ;o)
    Great interpretation!

  4. whatshappeningatmyhouse

    Lovely pics and great words. And none of those are ‘sins’ in my book! x

  5. Ha ha,, I used to do that with cake mix…can’t get away with it anymore though
    Love your entry๐Ÿ™‚

  6. Lovely post Chris showing that the deadly sins are all in the interpretation!

  7. Very nice! Lovely pics of a lovely family… xx

  8. Very nicely done. And, I think all of those are quite acceptable sins!

  9. I really like your interpretation of the sins:-)

  10. itsasmallworldafterallfamily

    NONE of them are sins, but I like the way you’ve managed to include them all!

  11. Aww how lovely! If they were the only sins we had to worry about in the world, I think we’d all be ok!

    x

    • I know, it would be a lovely world wouldn’t it? I wanted to make this a bit jolly but it has inspired a more serious post about the nature of sin which I am currently working on…watch this space!

  12. Awwww those are fabulous sins. Keep on sinning. ๐Ÿ˜€

  13. If those are sins, we will all be saying our hail Marys. Great post – and love the gluttony pics especially.

  14. brilliant. and in my book, none of the above are sins, especially the licking the bowl one๐Ÿ™‚

  15. oriste

    Sins (and commandments) were invented by those who want to control us. You gave the answer in your last sentence, and that is the one and only commandment I respect and try to live by: “Do no harm”.

  16. Not at all, lovely photos but the last one is absolutely fab! ;0)

  17. Love your addition to the gallery. A great interpretation. xx

  18. Great post Christine. I love that you still lust after your husband. Thanks for sharing all the pics.

  19. The thing is, in my house, the dirty dishes would be sloth (mine) rather than wrath…. Oh dear!

    Great take on the theme!

  20. Pingback: The Gallery-Men « Thinly Spread

Leave a Reply

